Rock Island is our home.

The first investments to the Rock Island Community Foundation came from the Foundation's eight founders on April 16, 1967. Each member simply reached into their pockets and donated $20 a piece. Since then, the Foundation has given away over $1.75 million to community groups. The Foundation has grown to nearly 2 million dollars in assets. Each board member of RIFC is required to give an annual gift to the foundation. The foundation is also funded through gifts, bequests, and grants from the citizens of the community and area businesses. Through that support from the community, we have been able to help 191 different organizations that have submitted grant requests to RICF. More than 200,000 individuals in Rock Island have benefitted from our grant-funded services. Banner photo courtesy of Ballet Quad Cities.

Beneficiaries of the RCIF include: American Red Cross, Quad Cities Chapter • Ballet Quad Cities • Bethany for Children & Families • Children’s Therapy Center/Easter Seals • First Day Fund • Girl Scouts of Easter Iowa & Western Illinois • Martin Luther King Jr. Community Center • Quad City Botanical Center • River Bend Food Bank • Robert Young Mental Health Center • Rock Island Park Board • Two Rivers YMCA • Youth Hope/Christian Friendliness • YWCA of the Quad Cities

You can view our 2016 IRS form (990 and 2017 IRS form 990 ( for a comprehensive report of our recent financial activity. 

Trustee's Committee

When it was formed, the Rock Island Community Foundation executed a Trust Agreement appointing two banks to serve as Trustees of the Foundation's funds and of all subsequent gifts or testamentary bequests made to the Foundation. Any Trust Officer is available to answer questions about the Foundation.

Kevin Kelly, Wealth Advisor
U.S. Bank, N.A.
201 W. Second Street
Davenport, IA 52801

Richard Emery
Senior Vice President, Trust Department Manager
American Bank & Trust
4301 E. 53rd Street
Davenport, IA 52807-3861

Board of Governors

The Board of Governors consists of nine carefully selected Rock Island residents who serve three-year terms without compensation. Any individual on the Board will be happy to answer questions.

Sara Darrow, Chair
Alison Beardsley
Brandy Donaldson
Charlotte Doehler Morrison
Christopher Mandle
Kelly McLaughlin
John Phillips
Debbie Schwiebert
Jennifer Walker